The girl whose bachelorette party I went to last month had her wedding shower earlier this month. They hosted at their house.  I love it when people host showers at their homes.  I feel like that’s how it’s meant to be.  It creates a more intimate, sweeter environment.

In preparation for the wedding the family had just completed some renovations. Just like the bachelorette party, the younger sister organized the lovely event.  She has great taste so the theme was trendy and tasteful.  I love how grounded these girls are.  They had a few fun games, I get competitive and love taking part – my partner and I won the first game!  There was tonnes of delicious food and nothing was over the top.  The abundance of fresh fruit was going down very nicely with the very hot weather.  She bought some fun props from Michaels to make a little selfie station.  She painted them herself!

Our mothers are sisters and that blue chest in the above picture is what they both received when they got married.  Back then, the bride would take her new clothes in a trunk to the husbands house.  My mom still has hers too.  I used to play with it when I was a child.  I thought it was really cute how they incorporated that into the décor.

Also, in our culture, whenever we have a gathering, our guests expect a feast! A feast is usually what we provide!  I love the way girls decorate their tables when they host a party on some of the blogs I follow but its not very realistic for us because we actually have to use up the space for all of the food options.  And really, at the end of the day, we’d rather eat than look at a beautifully done up table!

Leave a Reply

